Because spammers sometimes use automated programs to create email accounts and then send out junk emails, you are required to verify your account. When you click the verification link, you're asked to type a series of random characters shown in a picture. By entering exactly the provided characters, you show that you're a human rather than an automated program. Sometimes, you are required to verify your account several times.
If you don’t want use Facebook, you can permanently delete your Facebook account. When you delete your Facebook account, people won't be able to see it on Facebook and all posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems will delete. Please keep in mind that you won't be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you've added.